The Future of Democracy

Final Report October 2019

Focus Areas Proposed by Working Group:

A:  Citizenship and Migration

B:  Democratic Speech Cultures

C:  Making Democracy Work

Working Group:

Co-Chair: Lisa García Bedolla, Professor, Graduate School of Education, and Director, Institute of Governmental Studies
Co-Chair: Timothy Hampton, Professor, Comparative Literature and French, and Director, Doreen B. Townsend Center for the Humanities
Christopher Ansell, Professor and Chair, Political Science
Sarah Anzia, Associate Professor, Goldman School of Public Policy and Travers Department of Political Science
Irene Bloemraad, Professor, Sociology, and Director, Berkeley Interdisciplinary Migration Initiative
Camille Crittenden, Deputy Director, CITRIS and the Banatao Institute
Josh Hug, Assistant Teaching Professor, Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences
Tianna S. Paschel, Associate Professor, Sociology and African American Studies
Daniel Sargent, Associate Professor, History
Jonathan Sheehan, Professor, History, Director of Consortium for Interdisciplinary Research, and Director of Berkeley Center for the Study of Religion
R. Jay Wallace, Professor, Philosophy

Development Professional: Christian Gordon, Division of Social Sciences
Staff Lead: Verna Bowie, Vice Chancellor for Research Office

Please give us your feedback in the form below.