Nine UC Berkeley faculty members elected to American Academy of Arts & Sciences

April 23, 2010
By: Media Relations staff

BERKELEY - Nine University of California, Berkeley, faculty members have been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the nation's oldest and most prestigious honorary societies.

The new honorees are among 229 new fellows and foreign honorary members announced Monday, April 19. The total number of AAAS fellows now at UC Berkeley is 234.

The new fellows, to be inducted at a ceremony on Oct. 9 at the academy's headquarters in Cambridge, Mass., are:

Maciej Rafal Zworski, professor of mathematics

Richard A. Muller, professor of physics and senior scientist at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Geoffrey W. Marcy, professor of astronomy

David Gil Drubin, professor of molecular and cell biology

Richard H. Harland, C.H. Li Distinguished Professor of Genetics, Genomics and Development in the Department of Molecular and Cell Biology

Emmanuel Saez, professor of economics

Ruth Berins Collier, professor of political science

Neil Fligstein, Class of 1939 Chancellor's Professor of Sociology

Carla Hesse, Peder Sather Professor of European History and dean of social sciences in the College of Letters & Science

Established in 1780 by John Adams and other founders of the nation, the academy undertakes studies of complex and emerging problems. Each year, it chooses to honor several hundred of the nation's and world's leaders in the sciences, social sciences, the humanities, the arts, business and public affairs.

Click here for a complete list of the 2010 class of new members.