Four faculty members named fellows of AAAS

November 29, 2012
By: Robert Sanders

Four University of California, Berkeley, faculty members have been named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the association announced today (Thursday, Nov. 29).

The honor recognizes their distinguished efforts in the scientific and social applications of science, for which they were nominated and elected by their AAAS peers. This year a total of 702 AAAS members were awarded the distinction of Fellow.

The new UC Berkeley fellows are:

Sheng Luan, professor of plant and microbial biology, “for distinguished contributions to the field of plant cell signaling, and for distinguished service to the plant biology community as founding editor-in-chief of Molecular Plant.”

Kunxin Luo, professor of molecular and cell biology and faculty scientist at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, “for contributions to the field of signal transduction in cancer and aging, particularly for identification and characterization of novel regulators of TGF-β and p53 pathways.”

Eric Norman, professor of nuclear engineering, “for distinguished contributions to nuclear science and applications to national security, and high commitment to public education and outreach, particularly following the Fukushima nuclear disaster.”

Evan Williams, professor of chemistry, “for distinguished contributions to physical chemistry and mass spectrometry, particularly for development and application of new methods for determining ion structure and energetics.”

Counting the new honorees, a total of 227 UC Berkeley faculty members are currently AAAS fellows.

The 2012 AAAS Fellows will be presented with certificates and pins on Saturday, Feb. 16, at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2013 AAAS annual meeting in Boston, Mass.