AAAS Adds Ten New Fellows From UC Berkeley

January 26, 2022
By: Kara Manke
A collage of headshots of Berkeley's 10 new AAAS Fellows
Ann M. Kring (top left), Hitoshi Murayama, Kristie A. Boering, Michael Boots, Paolo D’Odorico, Rodrigo P. P. Almeida, Ruzena Bajcsy, Eric Brewer, Tiffany Lohwater and Eva Nogales (bottom right) are the nine Berkeley community members elected to the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Ten members of the UC Berkeley community – including nine faculty and one staff member — have been elected American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) fellows, one of the most distinctive honors within the scientific community. The 2021 class of AAAS fellows includes 564 scientists, engineers and innovators who are being recognized for their scientifically and socially distinguished achievements.

The 2021 Berkeley fellows are:

A headshot of Rodrigo P. P. AlmeidaRodrigo P. P. Almeida, professor of emerging infectious disease ecology and the Hildebrand-Laumeister Chair in Plant Pathology. Almeida is recognized for distinguished contributions to the field of ecology, particularly for experimental and modeling work on the ecology, evolution and management of insect-transmitted plant pathogens.


A headshot of Ruzena BajcsyRuzena Bajcsy, professor emerita of electrical engineering and computer sciences. Bajcsy is recognized for pioneering and multidisciplinary contributions to machine perception, robotics and artificial intelligence — in particular, the area of active perception, which has revolutionized robotic sensing and vision, and the area of elastic matching, which has advanced the field of medical imaging.


A headshot of Kristie Boering

Kristie A. Boering, professor of chemistry and of earth and planetary science. Boering is recognized for pioneering work in applying new isotope effects, supported by quantum calculations, to study upper atmospheric chemistry, stratosphere-troposphere mixing and global biogeochemical cycles.


A headshot of Michael Boots

Michael Boots, professor of integrative biology. Boots is recognized for distinguished contributions to the field of infectious disease biology, particularly theoretical work on the evolution of virulence and its consequences for intervention and human health.


A headshot of Eric Brewer

Eric Brewer, professor emeritus of electrical engineering and computer science. Brewer is recognized is for the design and development of highly scalable internet services, and innovations in bringing information technology to developing regions.


A headshot of Paolo D'Odorico


Paolo D’Odorico, professor of environmental science, policy and management. D’Odorico is recognized for major scientific advances in ecohydrology and food-water-energy systems.


A headshot of Ann M. Kring

Ann M. Kring, professor of psychology. Kring is recognized for distinguished contributions to the field of psychology and affective science, particularly for improving the understanding of anhedonia or distortions of affect in schizophrenia and bipolar disorder.


A headshot of Tiffany LohwaterTiffany Lohwater, assistant dean of communications in the Division of Computing, Data Science, and Society. Lohwater is recognized for her leadership in science communications and public engagement, including establishing the AAAS Center for Public Engagement with Science and Technology and its highly successful Communicating Science Workshops.


A headshot of Hitoshi Murayama

Hitoshi Murayama, professor of physics. Murayama is recognized for his many contributions to our understanding of physics beyond the Standard Model and for his role as founding director of the Kavli Institute for the Physics and Mathematics of the Universe at the University of Toyko.


A headshot of Eva Nogales

Eva Nogales, professor of molecular and cell biology. Nogales is recognized for elucidating the molecular function of macromolecular assemblies by direct visualization of their architecture, functional states and regulatory interactions.


View the full list of 2021 Fellows