Research at Berkeley is undertaken within several types of organizations—academic departments, institutes and centers, museums, and field stations.

  • Academic departments offer courses and grant degrees, as well as sometimes housing laboratories and other research infrastructure. They are organized according to academic disciplines (e.g. Sociology, Economics, Physics).
  • Research Centers and Institutes, sometimes referred to as Organized Research Units (ORUs), are organized around broad substantive research topics (e.g. international affairs, information technology, the environment). As such, they draw into their research programs faculty and students from multiple departments and disciplines. Berkeley has more than 100 such research units.
  • Museums also serve as important research sites on the campus. Berkeley has eight museums with strong collections in a variety of fields, including anthropology, paleontology and entomology.
  • In addition, Berkeley manages a number of biological field stations. Most are in remote locations within California ideal for the study of ecosystems, botany, zoology, and forestry.

For information about research activities within an academic department, go directly to that department's webpage from this list of departments. For information regarding institutes, centers, museums, and field stations, use the drop down lists below to filter by field of research and type of research unit. A list for research centers and institutes by subject area is available here.

To provide a new unit profile or update an existing profile, please send an e-mail to research@berkeley.edu.

Leave blank for all. Otherwise, the first selected term will be the default instead of "Any".
Leave blank for all. Otherwise, the first selected term will be the default instead of "Any".
Research Unit Director Email Telephone
Doreen B. Townsend Center for the Humanities Alan Tansman townsend_center@ls.berkeley.edu (510) 643-4311
Emma Goldman Papers Project Candace Falk cfalk@berkeley.edu (510) 642-0658
Energy Biosciences Institute John D. Coates jdcoates@berkeley.edu (510) 643-8455
Energy Institute at Haas Lucas Davis ei@haas.berkeley.edu (510) 642-9590
Essig Museum of Entomology Kipling Will kipwill@berkeley.edu (510) 642-4296
Field Station for the Study of Behavior, Ecology and Reproduction George Bentley gb7@berkeley.edu (510) 642-1530
Fisher Center for Real Estate & Urban Economics Ken Rosen krosen@haas.berkeley.edu (510) 643-6105
Functional Genomics Laboratory John Ngai jngai@berkeley.edu, (510) 642-9885
Haas Institute for a Fair and Inclusive Society john powell jpowell@berkeley.edu (510) 642-3342
Hans Jenny Pygmy Forest Reserve Ronald G. Amundson earthy@berkeley.edu (510) 643-7890
Hastings Natural History Reservation Eileen Lacey ealacey@berkeley.edu (510) 643-0284
Helen Wills Neuroscience Institute Ehud Isacoff ehud@berkeley.edu (510) 642-9853
Henry Wheeler Center for Emerging & Neglected Diseases Jeff Cox jeff.cox@berkeley.edu (510) 664-7206
Human Rights Center Eric Stover hrc@berkeley.edu (510) 642-0965
i4Energy David Culler culler@cs.berkeley.edu (510) 643-7572
Institute for Business Innovation Richard Lyons lyons@haas.berkeley.edu (510) 643-2027
Institute for Legal Research Harry Scheiber hscheiber@law.berkeley.edu (510) 643-9788
Institute for Research on Labor and Employment Jesse Rothstein irle@berkeley.edu (510) 643-8140
Institute for South Asia Studies Lawrence Cohen cohen@berkeley.edu (510) 642-3608
Institute for the Study of Societal Issues Martin Sanchez-Jankowski sanjan@berkeley.edu, (510) 642-0813

Pages