Research at Berkeley is undertaken within several types of organizations—academic departments, institutes and centers, museums, and field stations.

  • Academic departments offer courses and grant degrees, as well as sometimes housing laboratories and other research infrastructure. They are organized according to academic disciplines (e.g. Sociology, Economics, Physics).
  • Research Centers and Institutes, sometimes referred to as Organized Research Units (ORUs), are organized around broad substantive research topics (e.g. international affairs, information technology, the environment). As such, they draw into their research programs faculty and students from multiple departments and disciplines. Berkeley has more than 100 such research units.
  • Museums also serve as important research sites on the campus. Berkeley has eight museums with strong collections in a variety of fields, including anthropology, paleontology and entomology.
  • In addition, Berkeley manages a number of biological field stations. Most are in remote locations within California ideal for the study of ecosystems, botany, zoology, and forestry.

For information about research activities within an academic department, go directly to that department's webpage from this list of departments. For information regarding institutes, centers, museums, and field stations, use the drop down lists below to filter by field of research and type of research unit. A list for research centers and institutes by subject area is available here.

To provide a new unit profile or update an existing profile, please send an e-mail to research@berkeley.edu.

Research Unit Director Email Telephone
Angelo Coast Reserve Mary Power mepower@berkeley.edu 643-7776
Archaeological Research Facility Laurie Wilkie lawilkie@berkeley.edu, 642-2212
Arts Research Center Shannon Jackson shjacks@berkeley.edu 642-3895
Asia Business Center Teck-Hua Ho hoteck@haas.berkeley.edu 510-643-4272
Beatrice Bain Research Group Trinh T. Minh-ha trinh@berkeley.edu
Berkeley Center for Cosmological Physics Uros Seljak useljak@berkeley.edu 510-666-2627
Berkeley Center for Law and Technology Robert Barr rbarr@law.berkeley.edu 643-6960
Berkeley Center for Law, Business and the Economy Ken Taymor ktaymor@law.berkeley.edu 643-6936
Berkeley Energy and Climate Institute Paul Wright PaulWright@berkeley.edu
Berkeley Food Institute L. Ann Thrupp, Executive Director athrupp@berkeley.edu (510) 643-8821
Berkeley Institute for Jewish Law and Israeli Law, Economy and Society Kenneth Bamberger kbamberger@law.berkeley.edu 643-6218
Berkeley Law Clinical Program
Berkeley Nanosciences and Nanoengineering Institute Alex Zettl azettl@physics.berkeley.edu 642-4939
Berkeley Natural History Museums Rosemary Gillespie (Chair) gillespie@berkeley.edu 643-0188
Berkeley Population Center Michael Hout mikehout@berkeley.edu 510-643-6874
Berkeley Program in Science Technology Studies David Winickoff winickoff@berkeley.edu 510-643-0319
Berkeley Quantum Information and Computation Center K. Birgitta Whaley whaley@berkeley.edu 510-643-6820
Berkeley Roundtable on the International Economy John Zysman zysman@berkeley.edu 642-0474
Berkeley Seismological Laboratory Richard Allen rallen@berkeley.edu 510-642-3977
Berkeley Sensor & Actuator Center John M. Huggins, Executive Director jhuggins@eecs.berkeley.edu 510-643-6690

Pages