Research at Berkeley is undertaken within several types of organizations—academic departments, institutes and centers, museums, and field stations.

  • Academic departments offer courses and grant degrees, as well as sometimes housing laboratories and other research infrastructure. They are organized according to academic disciplines (e.g. Sociology, Economics, Physics).
  • Research Centers and Institutes, sometimes referred to as Organized Research Units (ORUs), are organized around broad substantive research topics (e.g. international affairs, information technology, the environment). As such, they draw into their research programs faculty and students from multiple departments and disciplines. Berkeley has more than 100 such research units.
  • Museums also serve as important research sites on the campus. Berkeley has eight museums with strong collections in a variety of fields, including anthropology, paleontology and entomology.
  • In addition, Berkeley manages a number of biological field stations. Most are in remote locations within California ideal for the study of ecosystems, botany, zoology, and forestry.

For information about research activities within an academic department, go directly to that department's webpage from this list of departments. For information regarding institutes, centers, museums, and field stations, use the drop down lists below to filter by field of research and type of research unit. A list for research centers and institutes by subject area is available here.

To provide a new unit profile or update an existing profile, please send an e-mail to research@berkeley.edu.

Leave blank for all. Otherwise, the first selected term will be the default instead of "Any".
Leave blank for all. Otherwise, the first selected term will be the default instead of "Any".
Research Unit Director Email Telephone
Angelo Coast Reserve Mary Power mepower@berkeley.edu (510) 643-7776
Archaeological Research Facility Laurie Wilkie lawilkie@berkeley.edu, (510) 642-2212
Arts Research Center Shannon Jackson ucb_arts@berkeley.edu (510) 642-3895
Asia Business Center Teck-Hua Ho hoteck@haas.berkeley.edu (510) 643-4272
Beatrice Bain Research Group Mel Chen melychen@berkeley.edu (510) 643-7172
Berkeley Center for Cosmological Physics Saul Perlmutter saul@lbl.gov (510) 642-3596
Berkeley Center for Law and Technology Jim Dempsey jdempsey@law.berkeley.edu (510) 643-6960
Berkeley Center for Law, Business and the Economy Robert Bartlett rbartlett@law.berkeley.edu (510) 642-6646
Berkeley Energy and Climate Institute Paul Wright PaulWright@berkeley.edu (510) 664-7153
Berkeley Food Institute Claire Kremen ckremen@nature.berkeley.edu (510) 643-8821
Berkeley Institute for Data Science (BIDS) Saul Perlmutter saul@lbl.gov (510) 642-3596
Berkeley Institute for Jewish Law and Israeli Law, Economy and Society Kenneth Bamberger kbamberger@law.berkeley.edu (510) 643-6218
Berkeley Law Clinical Program
Berkeley Nanosciences and Nanoengineering Institute Alex Zettl azettl@physics.berkeley.edu (510) 642-4939
Berkeley Natural History Museums Charles Marshall crmarshall@berkeley.edu (510) 642-1821
Berkeley Population Center Joshua Goldstein josh@demog.berkeley.edu (510) 642-9688
Berkeley Program in Science Technology Studies David Winickoff winickoff@berkeley.edu (510) 643-0319
Berkeley Quantum Information and Computation Center K. Birgitta Whaley whaley@berkeley.edu (510) 643-6820
Berkeley Roundtable on the International Economy John Zysman zysman@berkeley.edu (510) 642-0474
Berkeley Seismological Laboratory Richard Allen rallen@berkeley.edu (510) 642-3977

Pages