Research at Berkeley is undertaken within several types of organizations—academic departments, institutes and centers, museums, and field stations.

  • Academic departments offer courses and grant degrees, as well as sometimes housing laboratories and other research infrastructure. They are organized according to academic disciplines (e.g. Sociology, Economics, Physics).
  • Research Centers and Institutes, sometimes referred to as Organized Research Units (ORUs), are organized around broad substantive research topics (e.g. international affairs, information technology, the environment). As such, they draw into their research programs faculty and students from multiple departments and disciplines. Berkeley has more than 100 such research units.
  • Museums also serve as important research sites on the campus. Berkeley has eight museums with strong collections in a variety of fields, including anthropology, paleontology and entomology.
  • In addition, Berkeley manages a number of biological field stations. Most are in remote locations within California ideal for the study of ecosystems, botany, zoology, and forestry.

For information about research activities within an academic department, go directly to that department's webpage from this list of departments. For information regarding institutes, centers, museums, and field stations, use the drop down lists below to filter by field of research and type of research unit. A list for research centers and institutes by subject area is available here.

To provide a new unit profile or update an existing profile, please send an e-mail to research@berkeley.edu.

Leave blank for all. Otherwise, the first selected term will be the default instead of "Any".
Leave blank for all. Otherwise, the first selected term will be the default instead of "Any".
Research Unit Director Email Telephone
Center for Korean Studies Laura Nelson lcnelson@berkeley.edu (510) 642-5674
Center for Latin American Studies Harley Shaiken hshaiken@berkeley.edu, (510) 642-2088
Center for Law, Energy and the Environment Holly Doremus hdoremus@law.berkeley.edu (510) 643-5699
Center for Middle Eastern Studies Emily Gottreich cmes@berkeley.edu (510) 642-8208
Center for New Music and Audio Technologies Edmund Campion campion@cnmat.berkeley.edu (510) 643-9990
Center for Race and Gender Evelyn Nakano Glenn englenn@berkeley.edu (510) 643-8488
Center for Responsible Business Robert Strand rstrand@berkeley.edu (510) 643-0341
Center for Science, Technology, Medicine and Society Massimo Mazzotti mazzotti@berkeley.edu (510) 642-4581
Center for Southeast Asia Studies Pheng Cheah pcheah@berkeley.edu (510) 642-3609
Center for Stable Isotope Biogeochemistry Todd Dawson tdawson@berkeley.edu (510) 642-6090
Center for Studies in Higher Education Carol Christ cchrist@berkeley.edu (510) 664-7834
Center for the Study of Law and Society Jonathan Simon jsimon@law.berkeley.edu (510) 643-5169
Center for the Study of Sexual Culture Mel Chen melychen@berkeley.edu (510) 643-7172
Center for the Tebtunis Papyri Todd Hickey thickey@library.berkeley.edu (510) 642-4556
Center on the Economics and Demography of Aging William Dow wdow@berkeley.edu (510) 643-5439
Central Sierra Snow Lab Vacant research@berkeley.edu
Chickering American River Reserve Rauri Bowie bowie@berkeley.edu (510) 643-1617
Clausen Center for International Business & Policy Pierre-Olivier Gourinchas pog@berkeley.edu (510) 789-4561
Coleman Fung Institute for Engineering Leadership Lee Fleming lfleming@berkeley.edu (510) 664-4586
Dado and Maria Banatao GLOBE Center for Global Learning and Outreach from Berkeley Engineering (GLOBE) Anthony St. George st_george@berkeley.edu (510) 642-9769

Pages