Research at Berkeley is undertaken within several types of organizations—academic departments, institutes and centers, museums, and field stations.

  • Academic departments offer courses and grant degrees, as well as sometimes housing laboratories and other research infrastructure. They are organized according to academic disciplines (e.g. Sociology, Economics, Physics).
  • Research Centers and Institutes, sometimes referred to as Organized Research Units (ORUs), are organized around broad substantive research topics (e.g. international affairs, information technology, the environment). As such, they draw into their research programs faculty and students from multiple departments and disciplines. Berkeley has more than 100 such research units.
  • Museums also serve as important research sites on the campus. Berkeley has eight museums with strong collections in a variety of fields, including anthropology, paleontology and entomology.
  • In addition, Berkeley manages a number of biological field stations. Most are in remote locations within California ideal for the study of ecosystems, botany, zoology, and forestry.

For information about research activities within an academic department, go directly to that department's webpage from this list of departments. For information regarding institutes, centers, museums, and field stations, use the drop down lists below to filter by field of research and type of research unit. A list for research centers and institutes by subject area is available here.

To provide a new unit profile or update an existing profile, please send an e-mail to research@berkeley.edu.

Leave blank for all. Otherwise, the first selected term will be the default instead of "Any".
Leave blank for all. Otherwise, the first selected term will be the default instead of "Any".
Research Unit Director Email Telephone
Berkeley Sensor & Actuator Center Michael Cable mdcable@berkeley.edu (510) 643-5663
Berkeley Stem Cell Center David Schaffer schaffer@berkeley.edu (510) 643-5963
Berkeley Water Center David Sedlak bwc_director@berkeley.edu (510) 643-0735
Blue Oak Ranch Reserve Todd Dawson tdawson@berkeley.edu (510) 642-6090
Blum Center for Developing Economies Maryanne McCormick mmccormick@berkeley.edu (510) 847-6851
California Institute for Energy and Environment Carl Blumstein carl.blumstein@uc-ciee.org (510) 643-1440
California Institute for Quantitative Biosciences Susan Marqusee marqusee@berkeley.edu, (510) 642-7678
Canadian Studies Program Irene Bloemraad canada@berkeley.edu (510) 642-4287
Cancer Research Laboratory Russell Vance rvance@berkeley.edu (510) 643-2795
Center for African Studies Leonardo Arriola larriola@berkeley.edu (510) 642-8338
Center for Buddhist Studies Robert Sharf rsharf@berkeley.edu (510) 642-6369
Center for Child and Youth Policy Jill Duerr Berrick dberrick@berkeley.edu, (510) 643-7026
Center for Chinese Studies You-tien Hsing yhsing@berkeley.edu (510) 642-3903
Center for Effective Global Action Edward Miguel emiguel@econ.berkeley.edu (510) 642-7162
Center for Entrepreneurship & Technology Ikhlaq Sidhu sidhu@berkeley.edu (510) 664-4336
Center for Environmental Design Research Edward Arens earens@berkeley.edu, (510) 642-1158
Center for Environmental Research and Children's Health (CERCH) Brenda Eskenazi eskenazi@berkeley.edu (510) 642-3496
Center for Financial Reporting and Management Xiao-Jun Zhang xzhang@haas.berkeley.edu (510) 642-4789
Center for Information Technology Research in the Interest of Society Costas J. Spanos spanos@eecs.berkeley.edu (510) 664-4301
Center for Integrative Planetary Science Eugene Chiang echiang@astro.berkeley.edu (510) 701-5996

Pages