2014/15 Recipients

The recipients of the 2014/15 UC Berkeley-UCSF Sackler Faculty Exchange Program are Dr. Hiten Madhani from UCSF and Dr. Chris Chang from UC Berkeley.

Hiten Madhani
Hiten Madhani

Hiten Madhani, UCSF, Biochemistry and Biophysics

Title: Recognizing the Enemy Within: Mechanisms that License Genome Defense

Hiten Madhani is a professor of biochemistry and biophysics at UCSF.  Dr. Madhani’s group investigates the biology of the budding yeast Cryptococcus neoformans. Infection by this opportunistic yeast pathogen is most common cause of fungal meningitis worldwide, and is responsible for ~1/3 of deaths in HIV/AIDS.  His laboratory is interested in how Cryptococcus survives in the mammalian host, how it evades the host immune system, and how it responds to small molecules.  The Madhani group also uses Cryptococcus to investigate basic mechanisms of gene regulation with a focus on chromatin and small RNA-based control of selfish genetic elements.

Dr. Madhani holds BS and MS degrees from Stanford University and MD and PhD degrees from UCSF.  His received postdoctoral training at Whitehead Institute/MIT.  He has received research awards from the David and Lucille Packard Foundation, the Burroughs-Welcome Fund, Leukemia and Lymphoma Society and the National Institutes of Health.  In 2014 he was elected to the American Academy of Microbiology.

Chris Chang
Chris Chang

Chris Chang, UC Berkeley, Chemistry and Molecular and Cell Biology

Title: Recombinant Antibodies to Target Copper Homeostasis as an Anticancer Therapeutic Strategy

Research in the Chang lab is focused on chemical biology and inorganic chemistry, with particular interests in molecular imaging and catalysis applied to neuroscience, metabolic diseases, and sustainable energy.

Dr. Chang's work has been honored by awards from the Dreyfus, Beckman, Sloan, and Packard Foundations, Amgen, Astra Zeneca, and Novartis, Technology Review, ACS (Cope Scholar, Eli Lilly, Nobel Laureate Signature, Baekeland), RSC (Transition Metal Chemistry), and SBIC.