Research at Berkeley is undertaken within several types of organizations—academic departments, institutes and centers, museums, and field stations.

  • Academic departments offer courses and grant degrees, as well as sometimes housing laboratories and other research infrastructure. They are organized according to academic disciplines (e.g. Sociology, Economics, Physics).
  • Research Centers and Institutes, sometimes referred to as Organized Research Units (ORUs), are organized around broad substantive research topics (e.g. international affairs, information technology, the environment). As such, they draw into their research programs faculty and students from multiple departments and disciplines. Berkeley has more than 100 such research units.
  • Museums also serve as important research sites on the campus. Berkeley has eight museums with strong collections in a variety of fields, including anthropology, paleontology and entomology.
  • In addition, Berkeley manages a number of biological field stations. Most are in remote locations within California ideal for the study of ecosystems, botany, zoology, and forestry.

For information about research activities within an academic department, go directly to that department's webpage from this list of departments. For information regarding institutes, centers, museums, and field stations, use the drop down lists below to filter by field of research and type of research unit. A list for research centers and institutes by subject area is available here.

To provide a new unit profile or update an existing profile, please send an e-mail to research@berkeley.edu.

Leave blank for all. Otherwise, the first selected term will be the default instead of "Any".
Leave blank for all. Otherwise, the first selected term will be the default instead of "Any".
Research Unit Director Email Telephone
Project Production Systems Laboratory Glenn Ballard ballard@ce.berkeley.edu (510) 642-2016
Radio Astronomy Laboratory William Holzapfel swlh@berkeley.edu (510) 642-5036
Renewable and Appropriate Energy Laboratory Daniel Kammen kammen@berkeley.edu (510) 642-1139
Richard B. Gump South Pacific Research George Roderick roderick@berkeley.edu (510) 643-3326
Robert D. Burch Center for Tax Policy & Public Finance Alan Auerbach burch@econ.berkeley.edu (510) 643-0711
Sagehen Creek Field Station Jeff Brown sagehen@berkeley.edu (530) 587-4830
Simons Institute for the Theory of Computing Richard Karp karp@cs.berkeley.edu (510) 664-4029
Space Sciences Laboratory Stuart Bale bale@ssl.berkeley.edu, (510) 642-1361
Theoretical Astrophysics Center Eliot Quataert eliot@astro.berkeley.edu, (510) 642-3792
UC Botanical Garden Eric T Siegel etsiegel@berkeley.edu (510) 643-8999
UC Center for Energy and Environmental Economics Severin Borenstein borenste@haas.berkeley.edu (510) 642-9590
UC Energy Institute Severin Borenstein borenste@haas.berkeley.edu (510) 642-9590
UC Museum of Paleontology Charles Marshall crmarshall@berkeley.edu (510) 642-1821
UC Transportation Center Robert Cervero robertc@berkeley.edu, (510) 642-4874
University and Jepson Herbaria Brent Mishler bmishler@berkeley.edu, (510) 642-6810
University of California Center on Economic Competitiveness in Transportation Michael Cassidy cassidy@cs.berkeley.edu (510) 642-7702

Pages