Research at Berkeley is undertaken within several types of organizations—academic departments, institutes and centers, museums, and field stations.

  • Academic departments offer courses and grant degrees, as well as sometimes housing laboratories and other research infrastructure. They are organized according to academic disciplines (e.g. Sociology, Economics, Physics).
  • Research Centers and Institutes, sometimes referred to as Organized Research Units (ORUs), are organized around broad substantive research topics (e.g. international affairs, information technology, the environment). As such, they draw into their research programs faculty and students from multiple departments and disciplines. Berkeley has more than 100 such research units.
  • Museums also serve as important research sites on the campus. Berkeley has eight museums with strong collections in a variety of fields, including anthropology, paleontology and entomology.
  • In addition, Berkeley manages a number of biological field stations. Most are in remote locations within California ideal for the study of ecosystems, botany, zoology, and forestry.

For information about research activities within an academic department, go directly to that department's webpage from this list of departments. For information regarding institutes, centers, museums, and field stations, use the drop down lists below to filter by field of research and type of research unit. A list for research centers and institutes by subject area is available here.

To provide a new unit profile or update an existing profile, please send an e-mail to research@berkeley.edu.

Leave blank for all. Otherwise, the first selected term will be the default instead of "Any".
Leave blank for all. Otherwise, the first selected term will be the default instead of "Any".
Research Unit Director Email Telephone
Institute of Cognitive and Brain Sciences Thomas Griffiths tom_griffiths@berkeley.edu (510) 642-2592
Institute of East Asian Studies Kevin O'Brien kobrien@berkeley.edu (510) 642-2809
Institute of European Studies Jeroen Dewulf jdewulf@berkeley.edu (510) 664-9904
Institute of Governmental Studies Jack Citrin gojack@berkeley.edu, (510) 642-1474
Institute of Human Development Ron Dahl rondahl@berkeley.edu (510) 642-9163
Institute of International Studies Pradeep Chhibber chhibber@berkeley.edu, (510) 642-2474
Institute of Personality and Social Research Robert Levenson boblev@berkeley.edu, (510) 642-5050
Institute of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies John Connelly jfconnel@berkeley.edu (510) 642-3230
Institute of Transportation Studies Alexandre Bayen director@its.berkeley.edu (510) 642-3585
Institute of Urban and Regional Development Jason Corburn jcorburn@berkeley.edu (510) 643-4790
Joint BioEnergy Institute Jay Keasling JDKeasling@lbl.gov (510) 495-2620
Kadish Center for Morality, Law & Public Affairs Christopher Kutz ckutz@law.berkeley.edu (510) 642-6053
Kavli Energy NanoScience Institute Paul Alivisatos paul.alivisatos@berkeley.edu (510) 643-7371
Miller Institute for Basic Research in Science Marla Feller mfeller@berkeley.edu 510-643-1726
Museum of Vertebrate Zoology Michael Nachman mnachman@berkeley.edu (510) 642-1792
Office for History of Science and Technology Massimo Mazzotti mazzotti@berkeley.edu (510) 642-4581
Pacific Earthquake Engineering Research Center Khalid Mosalam peer_center@berkeley.edu (510) 642-3437
Phoebe A. Hearst Museum of Anthropology Benjamin Porter bwporter@berkeley.edu (510) 642-3681
Program for the Medical Humanities Thomas Laqueur tlaqueur@berkeley.edu (510) 642-2339
Project Production Systems Laboratory Glenn Ballard ballard@ce.berkeley.edu (510) 642-2016

Pages